Been Awhile Update

I am now almost 3 months out from my Take Down surgery.  Life has been going really good.  I am still noticing changes for the better every day.  Last night I slept for 6 hours straight.  That is the most I have slept at one time since last November.  Yeah for sleep! I still go about 12 – 14 times in a 24 hour period.  I will be glad when that goes down to more like 6 – 8 times a day.  But the urges are getting easier to deal with.

I am able to eat more things and they don’t bother me as much.  I still can’t eat Hot Dogs.  Tried the other night, still not good.  Now I notice that if I eat 4 or 5 meals in a row that are bad, it will finally catch up to me and start to bother me.  so I can have a ‘cheat’ meal every once and awhile and it really doesn’t bother me.

The worst thing I have dealt with over the past three months has been a few accidents while I was sleeping.  It has been very frustrating.  One night I really had an accident.  We had to clean the sheets and everything.  It was a horrible reminder of where I was 6 months ago.  Luckily, in the past month, I have been accident free.  I am hoping the accidents are a thing of the past.

The other thing that I have had a hard time with is my emotions.  I have been very angry lately.  Very short with Lori and the boys.  I don’t know why?  Lori and I have never fought in our marriage, but lately we seem to be getting on each others nerves.  I wonder if it has something to do with me being sick for 5 years and her kind of stepping into the leadership role for many things while I fell to the side.   For the past 5 years I have been able to remove myself from anything with the family whenever I wanted.  Lori always picked up the place of me because she knew I was sick.  Now I am not sick and I feel pressure that I have to do everything.  Where as before I could always just leave and go to the bathroom, it was my escape from anything.  I never had to do anything if I didn’t want to.  I would just say, “I have to go.” and leave, and Lori knew she was going to take over and finish whatever it was we were doing.  Now I can’t do that, and believe me Lori is over me talking about being sick.  There used to be A LOT of grace for me before the surgery, not so much now.

Any who, the Jury is still out on that one.  I really feel like I am the one that is edgy, maybe it is from lack of a good night sleep.  I don’t know, I’ll keep you posted as I grow and figure this out.

I will try to update more.  They came out with an app for my i-phone to let us log into WordPress and update our blogs.  I am going to install it later today and play with it tonight.  If it works, I will try to post more often.

~ by Chaz on August 11, 2009.

5 Responses to “Been Awhile Update”

  1. Hi Chaz-

    I have finally got my date for the first part of the surgery Sept. 8, and I can’t be any happier. I have put on 11 pounds in 3 months I think because of depression because I have been so sick! At the end of the day I look 6 months pregnant from stomach swelling. It’s so painful! I pray for you and your family. I know what you mean about taking on responsibility now. I worry about that once my surgeries are done. I guess I sometimes use my disease as a crutch to get out of things and once that is fixed I wonder ” what will I do!”. My parents told me that they will be expecting more of me once I’m better. I’ve been sick my whole life so I just don’t know if emotionally I can handle the change. I mean you always know eventually the change and growing up would come but I never thought I would be better so I never really worried about it. I have a job that can’t support me , it was just the easiest to have and be sick with. I don’t know if I can handle the grind of the everyday! What I’m getting at is, is that I see your point. I haven’t had the surgery yet and I’m already thinking of the stress of being “healthy”! Good luck and I look forward to reading about you again!

    • Hey Jaimie, I am glad to hear that you have a date for surgery. Don’t stress over the health stuff. The rewards from the surgery will far out weigh the “new life” that you have to adjust to. Just take each day one step at a time. Before you know it, you will have walked further than you ever thought you could. Everything is going to be fine. Aren’t you getting a Disney trip out of this? 🙂

  2. Oh Chaz. This is one of the pressures that I am feeling will come to my marriage but rather it is the stress of having to have this surgery (when feeling normal) and then the healing stress, the stress that will come as my body tries to figure out how to work again. The stress that will be put upon a father who now has to take on so much more than normal and be a good provider and spouse. So much is being asked of all of us, that is just plain stressful. I pray that God will bring you peace and grace in your home again. That he will handle my fears of stress and that Lance and I will weather this storm brewing.

  3. Hey Chaz, Just wanted to check in and see how things are. Hope that you have peace and that God has touched your marriage as it had sounded like y’all had hit a rough patch. Have a great long weekend. ML

  4. Hi Chaz
    I had the same surgery as you in Nov 2008, and then my take down in Feb 2009. My Doctor and surgeon are at the Massachusetts general Hospital and they are now discovering that our surgery has had some complications as sexual dysfunction or ED, emotional disturbances like anger, sadness and depression and many other side effects. I can relate to what you went thru and are still going thru as I deal with the same issues as you have written here. I have been on various medications the last 3 years to figure what works to slow down the dissentary, and I found that opium DTO taken at various times during the day has slowed the urges for about 2-4 hours, sometimes 8 hours. Also, if you experience J-pouch pouchitus, Cipro or Amoxicillian has helped. Anyhow, I could go on and on but feel free to email me if you have questions or suggestions. I am still trying to figure out how to have a “normal” life without all these complications…

Leave a Reply

 
