February Update

I can’t believe that I am scheduling my one year visit back with my doctor. Where has the time gone? A year ago at this time we were leaving for our cruise and I was still really sick. We were talking about taking another one the other day, because it would be much different this time around.

Life has gotten MUCH better for me since the surgery. I wanted to give some updates for those who are wondering what happened to me.

First I will give you some of the good news. My life is 110% better. I am so thankful for everything my doctor has done for me and how much God has healed me. I would do it all over again if I had too. I feel I have gotten my life back to almost 100%.

A few weeks ago we flew back to Wisconsin for a visit. I had not flown in almost 5 years. The trip went off without a glitch. I even flew on four different planes without even once a butt flare up or anything. It was awesome. ( I’ll write more on the trip at a later time).

Work has been great. I still have many different shows and events that I have to work at and I no longer have the anxiety that I used to have. It has made work very pleasant.

Eating has been a blessing and a curse. I can eat just about anything now. That is the blessing. Because I can eat just about anything, I have eaten everything and my weight has shot up. Almost 20 lbs over the past four months. Most people that suffer from Crohns or ulcertive colitis could stand to gain some weight. I am not one of those people. I think I was already the fattest uc patient in America to begin with. So 20lbs I could have done without.

Because of this I have tried to start working out, but with my work schedule, it is almost impossible. Which leads to some of my frustrating things I still have to deal with. I can’t run any long distance. I have tried a couple of times, but every time, I have to go to the bathroom within the first mile. Aggghhhh! I really miss running, but my body won’t let me right now. It makes sense, if you think about it, next time you are sick and have diarrhea real bad, try to go out and do a five mile jog. I think we all know where that little story will end. But I am hoping that some day I will be able to run long distance again.

Along those lines is lifting anything heavy. It is hard to lift and squeeze your bum together at the same time. Or there are times that I sneeze or cough and “sprinkle” a little mud down below. (a friend of mine that has gone through the same surgery told me that he had to wear panty liners in the beginning to help with that problem. … really? … panty liners? … now I have to be the fat man coming down the street with panty liners on? Can I feel any more awkward than that? I don’t know if I am ready to make the cross over to panty liners…) So exerting energy can be a real challenge. It doesn’t happen all the time, just at the worst possible place. Like the other day at work I was playing hackey sack with some if the guys while on break. We were having a blast, but then I realized, too late, that stretching and jumping and lifting your leg at break neck speeds makes it easy for “sprinkles” or even “small showers” to happen.

My only other real bummer is I still have to wear diapers to bed at night. There are many nights I never have an accident but there are just as many that I do. I will be glad to be done with that someday. I also still get up 2 or 3 times at night. I would love to get a real night of sleep. The most I have had at one time in over two years is 6 hours one night. The average is about 2 to 3 hours at a time at night. This is much better than every 45 minutes like I was last year, but now where I want to be for long term.  I think some of the problem goes back to eating.  I have slipped back into the habit of eating late at night.  I think that wears on my system and causes me to go to the bathroom throughout the night more, than if I would just make my last meal at 6:00 every night and then not eat again… yeah right.  Watch survivor and and not eat, Lost and not eat, Amazing Race and not eat, Biggest Loser and not eat…  I think I watch too much TV.

Another small bummer I have come to live with is my inability to eat cinnamon. When I do it will rip me a new one. You might as well poor acid in me, because it will do about the same. I never new how much stuff had cinnamon in it that I liked; pumpkin pie, apple pie, snicker doodles, cinnamon rolls, many cereals…. I will miss the cinnamon. I’ll also miss Cinnabons, but that is probably a good thing.

~ by Chaz on February 20, 2010.

5 Responses to “February Update”

  1. Love reading your stuff.

  2. Cannot believe it has been a year. Glad to hear you are still making strides.

  3. What a great update! I’m so happy things are going well for you and will hopefully continue to get even better!!

  4. Glad to hear things are better for you. I guess wearing diapers at night only is a major improvement. I found your site when doing some research for myself. I am suffering right now, but realize that you have had the symptoms much worse than I have. I have had a colonoscopy done a couple years ago, and got a negative result. However, I either need a second opinion or something else. The best my GI doctor can tell me is severe IBS. Right now, I just had gallbladder removal, and this has made me go from bad to worse. I have had to totally rework my diet again, and can’t eat much without problems. I am so glad to see you have faith in God. You have me beat there, I am having to now think about how I still haven’t put up with what Job did. Otherwise, I am so impressed with you that you are willing to have family and friends read this. I am still hiding in shame with what I have.

  5. Casey,

    Thank you for sharing with us. I am sorry that you are going through a difficult time. I KNOW how that is. I hope my story has given you some comfort. My family and God have helped me get through this very difficult time in my life.

    I think the shame that we deal with is the hardest part of all of this. Knowing that others suffer with similar things and sometimes worse things can bring comfort in a weird way. I pray that you can find a way out from the shame, and that you can get the problem under control. Ultimately I want you to have normal life again.

    Thanks for reading.
    Chaz

Leave a Reply

 
