Another Update – May 2010

I was just re-reading my last post and realized I never came back and wrote about my Wisconsin trip.  We had a great time.  We went sledding with the boys and had a blast.  We almost killed our self on one hill that stops into a busy street.  But that just added to the excitement.  It was great seeing family, some I have not seen in over 5 years.  It was also great to talk to so many of them that have kept up with us over the past year through this blog.

I said in the previous post that I flew without a problem.  There was one change over that we had to do in Milwaukee and it was tight.  When we got off the plane my mom told me that we only had 10 minutes to get across the airport and get on the plane.  They were holding it for us.  So all five of us, with our luggage were running through the airport.  I had to go to the bathroom, and I really didn’t want to get on the next flight without some quiet time in the ever so clean public restroom of an airport.  But I wasn’t going to panic, we needed to catch this flight so I was just going to go with the flow.

When we got to the gate they were waiting for us.  We asked if we could run to the bathroom quick and the lady told us no way.  She was going to quickly send us out to the plane, but then we realized it was the wrong plane. 😛 They thought we were going to Green Bay so they were holding the plane for us, but we were going to Appleton and that plane was still a 1/2 hour away from boarding.  YEAH.  I got my quiet time and I was happy.

When we got into town we stayed with my parents.  I forgot they live in a old farm house that only has one bathroom.  One bathroom and 8 of us living there.  It was nice to not worry about this.  There was a time this would have stressed me out, but it was not a problem.  There were a few times that I was nervous, but I just calmed down and waited.

The only thing that happened on the trip that was difficult was the night we went to my grandparents house to meet the family.  It was very busy and there were kids-a-million running around.  My boys were having a blast playing with their cousins.  BUT there was only one bathroom.  (not a real big deal,) but it was off the living room, not the greatest place for bathrooms by the way, and the door did NOT lock.  The bathroom was not a small one either where you could sit on the can and hold your hand on the door handle to keep anyone out.  The toilet was 8 feet from the door.  I knew, as soon as I sat down to go, one of those kids was going to bust that door open and then out of shear terror of seeing me on the toilet, run away screaming, while leaving the door wide open.  So I had my brother stand guard the first time.  Then I had to go again so I got my cousin to stand guard, but she had to leave so she got her dad to come and stand guard half way through my round.  It was like the changing of the guards, only not so prestegious.  Then I had to go one more time before we left, so I had my Uncle stand guard again.

I think what made it hard is people notice when someone is standing in front of a bathroom door.  I guess this is not a ‘normal’ place to hang out.  So they ask, “Why are you standing there?” and then my guard would respond.  “I am guarding the door for Chaz.  He has to go to the bathroom.”  And everyone would understand.  But I hate it that I had to go 3 times while we were there.  I feel like people are watching me to see if I am REALLY healed.  So when I have to go to the bathroom a lot I feel like people are thinking to themselves, “Hummmm, I guess the surgery didn’t work.”  I need to get over it.  I know the surgery worked and I know people aren’t really pondering all of this in there head.  Like my bathroom time is the concern of all people that I know.  It is hard, because for so long everyone did know my bathroom issues, and now I feel like I don’t want them to know anything, or if I have a bad day or night I don’t want people thinking that I am not doing good.  Hope that makes sense?

All in all the trip was wonderful and we will be going back later this year for a nice time with the family at a resort.  I am looking forward to it.

~ by Chaz on May 24, 2010.

One Response to “Another Update – May 2010”

  1. so happy for you, chaz!!! glad you guys had a nice trip and great blessings on your plane rides. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
